More Aussies heading to North America

When Shazza McKenzie spoke to Ringbelles last November, she made it clear that she wanted to expand from being someone who had only ever wrestled in Australia. Indeed, she took inspiration from fellow Aussies Madison Eagles, Jessie McKay, Tenille Tayla and Kellie Skater in wanting to go overseas to wrestle, train and step out of her comfort zone. Next month, the 23-year old from Melbourne gets to do just that.

Shazza has revealed that she will be heading to the United States next month to train at CHIKARA’s Wrestle Factory, as well as with Combat Zone Wrestling for six weeks. While she is there, she will also be wrestling on some shows – in fact, the first one has been revealed, as she will take on Simply D’Vyne at IndyGurlz Battlefront VII in Lebanon, PA on March 10.

Speaking exclusively to Ringbelles, Shazza told us:

For a long time, ever since I started training, my main goal in this business was to go overseas and try to make a name for myself. I’ve been doing this for about 3 years now and I finally think I’m ready to give it a shot. My trip to America is all about getting as much experience and learning as much as I can in the time I’m there so hopefully I come back even better than ever. I really want this year to be my year, I know EVERYONE says that but I’m willing to give it everything I’ve got. Failure is not an option at this point.

In addition, 18-year old fellow Melbourne native Nikita Naridian (who wrestled on the most recent PWWA show as Kellyanne English) is heading to Canada soon to train at the celebrated Storm Wrestling Academy with former WWE, WCW and ECW star Lance Storm, following in the footsteps of other female wrestlers who travelled from overseas to train there. As well as Tayla, other graduates include Ireland’s Rhia O’Reilly and the Academy’s first female graduate, The Artiste Formerly Known As Becky James.

– Lee Burton

2 thoughts on “More Aussies heading to North America

Leave a Reply

