Daffney to become a manager in SHINE?

daffney1Looks like SHINE 9 was the straw which broke the camel’s back when it came to Daffney.

After witnessing what she views as insolent and disrespectful behaviour, the former WCW Cruiserweight Champion has decided that enough is enough, and a change of direction is required. In a statement on the SHINE website, she writes:

An Open Letter to you all ~

Last spring when I first got together with Sal, Howard, and Lexie about forming a new Womens Federation I cannot tell you how exciting it all was. To be a part of a revolutionizing product from the ground up has been such a fullfilling project and I am so proud to watch it soar. BUT – and it’s quite a big but – it seems as though things have changed in my absence from the locker room.

From early on I found myself a little disheartened by some of our athletes’ attitudes. Throughout our first year, quite a few of the ladies on our roster have shown a lack of good sportsmanship and have been very disrespectful to myself, SHINE management, and the other women that work for our company. And it all came to a head at SHINE 9.

I have sat idly by for months now as I get microphones slammed into my chest and dissed by some of these rookies coming in. The final straw – after interrupting Legacy Awards and Legends recognitions since our debut show – Mercedes Martinez ruined Nikki’s birthday celebration and literally left cake on my face. Well, no more. I do believe it’s time to get my hands dirty.

It’s time to step away from Event Hostessing – maybe even commentary. For now I feel I can be of greater use ringside and in the locker room. I have applied for my Manager’s License and fully intend to straighten out these “ladies” if it’s granted. Wait til they get a load of me.

Live LOUD,

Daff

Clearly, this is a plot development, but it’s an interesting one. This certainly means a new ring announcer, and possibly a new colour commentator, should SHINE decide to team Lenny Leonard up with someone else – which they should, as it eases the pressure on Lenny, and he sounds much more relaxed as part of a team rather than flying solo. It also raises the question over who Daffney is planning to manage. It seems as if she has umbrage with Mercedes Martinez and Valkyrie – as it was Rain who shoved the mic into her chest in the prelude the introduction of the stable on SHINE 6. Will be aligning herself with an established main event face to add extra glitter to them, or will she go with a younger, rising talent who can get the superstar rub, much like she did with Rachel Summerlyn in Anarchy Championship Wrestling and SHIMMER? After all, Daffney has a lot of name value, and that could be used to push someone who is ready to jump to that next level. Presumably, we will find out more at SHINE 10 on May 24, when the second half of the qualifiers for the title tournament take place.

– Lee Burton

2 thoughts on “Daffney to become a manager in SHINE?

  1. A part of me wishes it be someone newer to the Shine or pro wrestling scene, like say, Heidi Lovelace? (One can dream). But I can totally see her going with someone like Leva Bates (Cosplay/crazy maniac), MsChif (For obvious reasons) or Nikki Roxx (Long time buddy).

    Like

Leave a Reply

