Tara talks TNA release, whether she will return & more

Tara TNASince her release from TNA in July 18, Tara has kept quiet about her feelings on the subject. However, she has broken her silence in an interview which was posted at the Wrestling Observer website about being let go and how she was going to leave anyway, as well as if she will return to the promotion in the future.

When asked about being released, Tara – real name Lisa Marie Varon – said:

It was a surprise to me. I went to TNA because I wanted to work with some of the great female wrestlers that I hadn’t faced like [Amazing] Kong, ODB, and Sarita. TNA has definitely shifted their focus as far as the women’s division. It was really my love of wrestling that kept me going. I didn’t think it was the right fit for me anymore. My contract was up in a month or two. They knew I wasn’t going to re-sign. First, they had the travel guy call me and tell me I was released. Then Dixie [Carter] called me later that day and said that it was a financial thing, and they knew I was ready to jump ship anyway. I think the classy thing to do would have been to give me the opportunity to quit rather than getting released. But at the end of the day, everyone got what they wanted.

As well as criticising TNA for the erosion of the Knockouts division, she also gave a thumbs up to WWE for its blossoming women’s division in developmental:

I like the direction that the Divas are heading. I also think there are a lot of talented females on the indy scene that could shine in TNA. I’m not sure that I understand what direction they are heading. They say never say never in this business. But I’m comfortable saying I will never return to TNA.

However, despite the criticisms and the promise never to return, she did commend members of the roster:

I don’t want to mention worst things, but the best is that I think women like Brooke [Tessmacher] and Taryn [Terrell] have really blossomed as wrestlers…

Gail [Kim] is always a fantastic performer, and those matches really highlight how far Taryn has progressed. Mickie [James] is an amazing talent, and shines in anything she does.

Varon also mentions an approach which has been made to her to start her own wrestling promotion, her restaurant The Squared Circle in the Chicago area (which has a rapidly expanding menu) and how she is considering expanding the brand. It seems that she is happy with her situation in life – and so she should be. With a blossoming business and approaches about utilising her mind for wrestling, it looks like the former Tara is happy with life. Good for her.

– Lee Burton
– Photo by TNA

One thought on “Tara talks TNA release, whether she will return & more

Leave a Reply

