Xandra Bale breaks fibula; in a cast for at least 6 weeks

Xandra Bale TabercilIn what must be an utterly crushing blow for her, Xandra Bale is out of the match against Cheerleader Melissa at NCW Femmes Fatales XIII, which would have determined the next challenger to Mercedes Martinez‘s International Championship. The 5-year pro from Markham, ON, Canada broke a bone in her leg from a dive from the top rope at Women Superstars Uncensored‘s Blood and Thunder iPPV on Saturday. In a statement released on her Facebook page, Bale elaborated on the story:

First and foremost, I just want to thank the lockerroom and staff of WSU and CZW for all their help and support last night. I also want to thank the countless people that have already messaged me their support. Can’t tell you how much it means to me. I broke my fibula (outside bone in the leg) yesterday during my match. No one’s fault but my own. I am in a cast for 6 weeks, which means I am unfortunately not going to be able to participate in Shimmer or femmes fatales for this month and I have likely wrestled my last match of 2013. I feel fine physically but I feel like I’ve let so many people down and that is the worst feeling right now. I’m so sorry to everyone and know that I can’t wait to get back in the ring. I am thrilled and so thankful with how 2013 went and I can’t wait to pick up where I left off.

It’s a rough piece of luck for Xandra, who was slotted into a big opportunity against Melissa – which ironically came about because of another injury, when Melissa’s scheduled opponent Courtney Rush suffered a broken collarbone at the CAN USA Classic event in the middle of last month. According to Femmes Fatales, Rush will again have the final decision on selecting another substitute.

The Suicide Blonde has been expanding her horizons in 2013, and it has really benefited her. She made her SHIMMER debut in April, took on Angelina Love at Squared Circle Wrestling‘s show in June, travelled to WSU in August and got a repeat booking last weekend for the iPPV, debuted in SHINE Wrestling last month and was also part of Team Canada for the CAN USA Classic. Considering Open Female Fight Season is well underway and her highest-profile match to date in Femmes Fatales at the end of this month, the timing could have certainly been better.

We wish Bale a full recovery, and look forward to her returning to the ring when she is back to 100% – which according to Xandra, may be around March or April.

– Lee Burton
– Photo by Tabercil

One thought on “Xandra Bale breaks fibula; in a cast for at least 6 weeks

Leave a Reply

