Mickie Knuckles needs ankle surgery

Mickie KnucklesWhat is it about becoming the number one contender to the Women Superstars Uncensored World Title that leads to that person getting injured?

First there was LuFisto, whose kneecap exploded from an errant top rope moonsault; Athena followed with a massive shoulder injury, and now there’s Mickie Knuckles, who became top contender at Queen and King of the Ring earlier this month.

The current WSU Queen updated her Facebook earlier today, saying:

Okay, so I was holding off on announcing this until I figured out what exactly was going to happen.

As many of you may know, last weekend I suffered a spiral break in my left leg during a match. As a matter of fact, it is the same leg I broke the femur on, however now it is the bottom half.
Originally, the emergency room doctors thought I would not need surgery but after seeing an orthopedic doctor and having him evaluate the leg they have decided I am going to need surgery to repair my fibula and ankle.

Although this is bad news, the silver lining is that it will take less time to heal than originally stated from the hospital with no surgery and I will have a WHOLE bionic leg!!
With that being said, I have had to cancel a few of my shows until I am healed. HOWEVER, I WILL still be in at the RESISTANCE Pro show on Friday, June 13 because 1.) I never miss a Resistance Pro show and 2.) I am the G** Damned women’s champion and nothing will get between me and my destiny! With all of this time to think and they way my wheels turn on an uneven balance, who knows what will go down (or up) on Friday the 13th.

It’s unclear as to which match Knuckles is referring to, but it could be the RESISTANCE win over Paloma Starr on the Friday or the Universal Independent Wrestling win over Pandora the following day. However, while having surgery and getting metal added to her ankle sounds like it may require a lot of time out, that may not necessarily be the case.

Mickie Knuckles Matt Tremont WSUKnuckles says the doctor performing the surgery says she will spend three weeks in a cast and then another three in a walking boot – which she says will be fine for wrestling. Depending on when this surgery takes place, that conceivably means that she could still wrestling at the IWA Mid-South Queen of the Deathmatches tournament on June 28. Her movement will likely be hugely limited if she does, but a death match show could be the best place for someone who will have a lack of mobility. It could also mean that she will be out of the cast the week of the next WSU show, where she is set to challenge LuFisto for the top title.

Even if she is unable to make certain dates due to her recovery, we wish Knuckles all the best and hope she makes a full recovery. She has been riding the crest of a wave recently with strong performances in WSU and enjoying plenty of success in IWA Mid-South and RESISTANCE, and it’s a shame for this injury to temporarily derail her.

You can hear our interview with Mickie Knuckles on episode 37 of the Women Of Wrestling Podcast from March 2012 by clicking here.

– Lee Burton
– Photo by Mickie Knuckles

Leave a Reply

